Leona by Drops Design

Recently finished up this crochet vest, Leona by DROPS Design, done in Bernat Softee Baby light weight white yarn. My first adult piece of clothing, made as a Christmas gift for a family member.

Leona

The pattern is a relatively easy v type stitch.  The instructions on it are pretty clear with sizing from S – XXXL which I especially like as it’s difficult to find plus size crochet clothing patterns.  My only issue with the pattern is the DECREASE and INCREASE rows at the waist.  The pattern tells you how many total stitches to decrease/increase but doesn’t tell you how many to stitch before the decrease/increase so I had to figure that out on my own by trial and error.  That meant lots of frogging…4 times before I got the stitch count right.  Final assembly was a breeze as it’s really just one big piece that only requires stitching at the shoulders and along the collar.  This piece is a size Medium and used approximately two-thirds of a pound size skein.

At first I didn’t care for the finished piece all that much, but the more I looked at it the more I liked it, so I decided to make one for me, in Saints gold of course.  Made with Caron One Pound worsted weight yarn, this size XL used up almost the whole skein.

Leonagold1

One thought on “Leona by Drops Design

Leave a Reply

